Some Insights from Kneale Mann!

I stare blankly at my computer screen groping for ideas and then groping for words. I feel as if all creativity has been drawn from my mind, like the last drops of water being drawn from an already dry well. So the question becomes to blog or not to blog? What do you do when you want to blog, or better yet start a blog, but don’t know what to write about? According to Kneale Mann you just have to do it.

If you don’t know what to write, just pick something that interests you and start writing. I thought this was some really great advice. I can’t count the number of times I have had writer’s block, when I went to journal on my blog. It was great for me to hear Mann say that he has felt the same way, but regardless he has learned to press through. I was surprised to hear some of Mann’s ideas, in particular the point he made about simply writing about what interests you.

For some reason, I always have thought of a blog as needing to have a particular purpose; to write on a topic just because it is interesting to you never seemed reason enough to me. Yet, now that I think about it, why wouldn’t it be! Kneale Mann also added that part of the benefit of writing, even if you don’t know what to write about, is the increased experience you receive. The more you write the better you get. There were a lot of other things mentioned in the interview I heard between Mann and Barbara Nixon. I wish there would have been more time for Mann to elaborate on his statement about questions.

He said that one way he has gotten better at blogging is just by asking questions. I guess I would have liked to know some of the questions he has asked, and also some of the answers he has received that helped him get to the point where he is now. Anyway just some thoughts, but if you are one of those people who would like to start a blog but don’t know where to begin, have no worries.  Thousands have been in your shoes. The trick is simply doing it. Gradually, thoughts will begin to flow and you will get in the swing of things, even if it takes a little time.

About seagirl29

I am currently a student at a University in Florida and studying to receive a major in Communication and a minor in Missions. I have a passion for writing. I also love going on mission trips and watching as the Lord works in unexpected ways.
This entry was posted in Public Relations, Topics of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

