Twitter Chat

What is a Twitter chat? Well if you are anything like me you have no idea. The good part is that we are about to find out. Sending a Tweet is simple enough once you get the hang of it, and viewing others’ tweets is fairly easy to figure out. However, knowing how to plug into a chat feels like a whole different communication game.

For those of you who don’t know, Twitter chats are conversations had through twitter, and they are geared more towards covering specific topics. Some chats occur weekly and some are monthly. There could even be a one-time shot. The topics cover anything from recent technology upgrades to special recipes.

However, the challenge for me comes when I first try to log into a chat. I found this You Tube video to be helpful, and I think it will do a better job of explaining what I am trying to express. Take a look and see what you think — maybe it will clear up some confusion.

So what did you think? I would like to touch on a few things that stood out to me. First, there is the importance of a hashtag. The hashtag allows you to block out all the other “stuff” going through twitter, and focus on those who are only interacting with the subject you are meeting about. Without the hashtag it would be virtually impossible to hold a chat.

Secondly, there is the possible annoyance of spam, but the block allows you to easily cut out any interaction from an unwanted source. You also have the ability to highlight the messages from people you like, by putting their addresses in the feature area.

Finally, keep in mind that, although you are only viewing messages that have to do with the subject connected to the hashtag group, your posts are still being displayed on your main twitter page. So what you write does not stay restricted to the tweet chat you are on. I hope this helped! I don’t know about you, but I think I am ready to give it a try.

About seagirl29

I am currently a student at a University in Florida and studying to receive a major in Communication and a minor in Missions. I have a passion for writing. I also love going on mission trips and watching as the Lord works in unexpected ways.
This entry was posted in Public Relations, Topics of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

